Before and After.

“When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul.” – Psalm 94:19

The past few months I have felt more alive than I had for a while. I feel like me again. Not the me that was battling with anxiety or fear or depression, just me. Free to laugh, free to love, free to experience joy. Just free.

And there’s no way to explain it, except by the grace of God. Yes, I did quit my thesis and start seeing a counselor, but I did not solve this problem myself. There has still been plenty that I could be anxious about. I just haven’t been. Even as I was processing what I want to do after graduation and living in that season of uncertainty, I had peace. I got this new perspective — that we never actually know what we’re doing next year and we always need to be trusting God with our futures. Right now, I’ve just been in a season where that is a lot more evident.

I’m at a place where I can recognize that it is by the grace of God that I am not struggling with anxiety or fear the way I was. He has restored my soul, and His comfort brings me joy. He breathed life into my dry bones, and His living water awoke my desert soul. I am so incredibly thankful to not only be alive, but to be genuinely living again. And I owe that all to my God, the rock in whom I take refuge.

❤ Lizzy

Leave a comment